Blue Moon Burgers – A New Experience

Code Blue

Ever since I first started coming out to visit Seattle and the co-author of this site (Joey Tirpak – JT) he has always raved about Blue Moon Burgers. Every time we would drive past one of their locations he would continue to harp upon how great their burgers were, and how for the price it was more than you would expect – overall a great value. Unfortunately though when I used to come and visit, the experiences were packed with so many other things that we had on our agendas that we were never able to stop and have a burger. Still, each time I drove past any of the Blue Moon Burger locations, all I could think about was how much JT raved about them. Luckily last Friday that would all change, and I would get to try Blue Moon Burgers myself.

After looking at the menu I decided I wanted to the try the biggest, most loaded burger that I could. I was extremely hungry, and my appetite for burgers is always high. My choice would be The Code Blue. If you are not familiar with Blue Moon Burgers and their menu (http://bluemoonburgers.com/menu/), The Code Blue includes the following ingredients:

  • Two Beef Patties
  • 4 Slices of Apple Smoked Bacon
  • 2 Slices of Cheddar Cheese
  • Blue Moon Sauce
  • Sweet Red Onions (I opted out of these – not a big onion fan)
  • Peanut Butter
  • Blue Moon Bun

Since this is not just a burger blog, I decided to take down a brew with my burger. Looking to try something local I went with the Dottie Seattle Lager (http://emeraldcitybeer.com/our-beer/) from Emerald City Beer Company.

After a short wait our food, as I was there with JT, it came out nice wrapped up. JT also had ordered fries, which I was able to steal some, and were very good. They reminded me of Boardwalk Fries (http://www.boardwalkfries.com/index.html) and for someone who does not eat many fries, these were delicious. Cooked very light, a slight crispiness, and salt combination they hit the spot.

The Code Blue burger was delicious from the first bite to the last. The flavors of the bacon and the cheese just melded together with perfect unity on the perfectly cooked beef patties. The real kicker though was the peanut butter on the bottom of the burger. This combination is something you should not knock until you try it. It reminded me of the Barrie Burger from AJ Bombers (http://ajbombers.com/) in Milwaukee, and nostalgically brought me back to the Brew City. The toasted bun was also a nice touch that added to the whole flavor experience.

While I may have sought out one of the largest burgers on the menu, it stood no chance. In a matter of minutes the entire thing was gone. You know it is a good burger when you can’t put it down, and that is how The Code Blue was for me.

The brew, the Dottie Seattle Lager also went down ok. It was not as good as I would have liked, and not as smooth either. At 4.7% ABV the Dottie was also a little bitter for my taste, and had an interesting aftertaste that I really did not care for. What it did do well was complement the burger. It was nice to enjoy a local brew as I consumed the goodness that was my food.

The beer I would rate 2.5/5 stars. I would not get it again, but also would not be afraid to try more beers from the Emerald City Beer Company.

The burger was phenomenal. I certainly understand why JT kept talking so highly of Blue Moon Burgers and am excited to go back and try another selection. Being so impressed, and having the burger being one of the best I have had in a while, if not ever, I rate it a 4.5/5 stars.

I suggest trying Blue Moon Burgers yourself if you are in the Seattle area.

If you have visited Blue Moon Burgers, are there any other burgers you recommend for me to try next? JT had the El Diablo Azul, and said he loved it as well. Look for a post from him about that one soon.

One comment

Leave a Reply

