A Little Light Reading

Last night I attended a networking event at Blue Martini Lounge in Bellevue, WA.  When I arrived and subsequently checked in on Google Places I was handed a Swag Bag which included a copy of Sip Northwest.

Before this bag and event I had never seen or heard of this magazine. While I am not from the Northwest originally I do tend to peruse the magazine sections and offerings whenever I can, whether this be at the airport, grocery store, newsstands or even the occasional book store (yes, there are still some of those around).

To say that I was excited and enjoyed my first ever encounter with Sip Northwest would be an understatement. The pages are filled with interesting articles and facts about all different types of spirits, beers and wines.

Some highlights relevant to the Seattle area from this issue were:

  • Big Horn Blond by Ram Restaurant & Brewery won gold medal in the golden ale category at the 30th Great American Beer Festival  (theram.com)
  • NW Peaks Brewery is located in Ballard and is a “nanobrewery” that makes small batches of beer and allows customers to come and fill growlers of their small run beer for a reasonable price (nwpeaksbrewery.com)
  • Two Beers Brewing Company has two great seasonal brews: Evolutionary IPA and Cascadian Dark Ale (twobeersbrewery.com)

If you get a chance I would suggest looking for this magazine (and hopefully be more successful than I was – knowing what you are looking for will help too) and checking it out. With the digital age though, you can also find the complimentary website at: sipnorthwest.com

Leave a Reply

