Hale’s Kolsch – Great Brew for Summer

The other day I was at Sexton in Ballard having myself some pretty delicious yam fries and corn bread. I was perusing their beer options looking for something to wash down my treats and eventually I decided on the Hale’s Kolsch, a German style ale, from Hale’s Brewery. It was some gorgeous weather out and all I was looking for at the time was a nice light beer to complement the day.

The brew came served in a mason jar (I can’t decide if I like this trend or if it’s getting tired) with a slight bit of creamy foam head on a golden body. One sip in and I knew I had made the right choice. This beer was exactly what I had wanted. It was light, crisp, and refreshing with just a hint of citrus to it. It was smooth going down and had a fair, but not overwhelming, hoppy finish. At only 4.5% ABV Hale’s Kolsch makes for really easy drinking.

With the sun finally making an appearance these last few days and the promise of Spring and Summer ahead of us I highly recommend you check out this brew. It’s available year round at Hale’s Pub and currently available at Sexton. Go in and grab a pint when the weather is nice, you will not be disappointed. I will be enjoying this with greater frequency as the days warm up.

The Hale’s Kolsch comes in at 4/5 stars:

Leave a Reply

